Ivor the Engine


Elliot, Vernon


4 mins 50 secs


Flute, oboe, clarinet in B flat, French horn in F and bassoon




Out of stock

This arrangement is currently unavailable.


Listen to an extract:


Vernon Elliot (1912 – 1996), was a bassoon player and composer with a distinct style. He took up the bassoon at an early age and had a long and eventful musical life. He was a founder member of the Philharmonia orchestra and a regular player at the Royal Opera House. He was also a member of Benjamin Britten’s English Opera Group Orchestra, a conductor of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and a professor at Trinity College of Music, London.

In 1959, Oliver Postgate asked him to write the famous Ivor the Engine theme for bassoon and he expanded that into the Ivor the Engine Suite. He then wrote the Noggin the Nog, The Seal of Neptune, Pogles’ Wood, Pingwings and the Clangers.

This arrangement is for the bassoon of a wind quintet and the other quintet members.


All musical arrangements are available to download as PDFs.

Once purchased, your files can be downloaded from Your Account.