Peer Gynt No. 1, No. 2 Aase’s Death

Length of piece

3 mins 36 secs


Flute, oboe, clarinet in A, French horn, bassoon


Grieg, E



Edvard Hagerup Greig (1843-1907) was a leading Norwegian composer and pianist. it was he who brought the music of Norway to prominance especially through his use of Norwegian folk music. In his home city of Bergen, there are many statues of him, a music academy established in his name and one of Norway’s leading choir is also named for him. Perhaps his most famous piece of music is his wonderful piano concerto, brought even further to the public’s attention by the infamous sketch on the Morecambe and Wise show with Andre Previn. Another of his well known pieces are the Peer Gynt suites, initially written as incidental music for Henry Ibsen’s play of the same name. The suites were then crystalised from that music. Presented here is Suite No. 1 with its widely recognisable Morning Mood and In the Hall of the Mountain King. This is Aase’s Death.

All musical arrangements are available to download as PDFs.

Once purchased, your files can be downloaded from Your Account.