The Romance from the Gadfly


Shostakovich, Dmitri Dmitriyevich


2 mins 30 secs


Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in B flat, Horn in F, Bassoon




Out of stock

This arrangement is currently unavailable.


Listen to an extract:


Dmitri Dmitriyevich Shostakovich, 1906 – 1975, was one of the most important and popular composers of the 20th century. His Russian origin coincided with the Revolution of 1917 and he came to fame patronised by the Russian Chief of Staff. In later life, he had complex relationship with the Russian Government and this is reflected in his music. He wrote 15 symphonies, 6 piano concerti and numerous other works including 3 operas, 3 ballets and many piano sonatas. He is perhaps best known for his Jazz Suites, written supposed to keep the Russian Government on side.

This modern quintet arrangement is of the Romance from the Gadfly suite.

All musical arrangements are available to download as PDFs.

Once purchased, your files can be downloaded from Your Account.